A group of elite and prominent persons of Dalu decided to establish a Degree College to impart higher education to the students community of the greater Dalu and its adjoining areas on 20 th May 2001 in presence of three Cabinet Ministers and one MLA and christened the college as Phukan Memorial College after the name of a freedom fighter Lt. Phukan N. Sangma from Dalu. First Adhoc Managing Committee for stating the College was constitute on 20 th May 2001 with Shri N.N.Simchang,MLA of Dalu L.A Constituency as the Chairman and Shri Projit Hadima as the first Secretary. The college was declared established on 18 th June 2001 by Shri N.J. Sangma the first MLA of Dalu L.A. Constituency in presence of huge gatherings. Fortunately, His Excellency, Shri A.R. Kohli, the then Governor of Meghalaya inaugurated the College on 18 th July 2001 amidst pomp and glory and laid the foundation stone of the college.

In the beginning the college was run and started its classes in the Dalu Govt. Higher Secondary School, Dalu (as kindly permitted by the Joint Director Higher & Technical Education, Meghalaya) with Shri Ashes Daring as the founder Principal. Till 2004 when the college was granted with temporary Affiliation from the university for Degree (Arts) course the students had to enroll and appear their Final B.A. Examinations for the 3(Three) consecutive years that is in 2002,2003 & 2004 from Tura Govt. College, Tura Centre.

Understanding the need of the college to have a permanent land of its own the Nokma of Magupara A∙king kindly donated a plot of land at Magupara on the Dalu-Mahendraganj Road measuring around 32.1 Bigha which is already been registered in the name of college.

In the year of 2007, the college was shifted to its permanent Campus at Magupara, Dalu-Mahendraganj Road about 2 km away from the Block Head Quarters Office of Dalu C & R D Block adjacent to Indo-Bangladesh International border which is covered with around 188 villages and a population of about 50 thousand approximately.